Tuesday, September 04, 2007

I'm totally looking forward to "Viva Forever."

New post coming very soon, I promise. But just in case I don't post it today, I wanted to alert you of the following upcoming covers-related event from our UK friends at The Waiting Room tomorrow (ish) on ErrorFM. Because I'm lazy, I'm cutting and pasting the info sent to me:



Hello You Scamps.

Have you ever felt embarrassed listening to one-hit wonders or pop gems of yesteryear? Fear not. Your favorite Indie superstars are giving the OK by joining in together for "Guilt By Association", a collection of songs by today's most exciting Indie talent re-interpreting their favorite guilty pleasure pop songs. Petra Haden delivers a soaring acapella version of Journey's anthem Don't Stop Believin'. Will Oldham/Bonnie 'Prince' Billy turns Mariah Carey's Can't Take That Away into a bittersweet synth ballad. Jim O'Rourke, who produced albums for Wilco, Beth Orton and Joanna Newsom transforms the Spice Girls' ballad Viva Forever into something that wouldn't have been out of place as a take out of a Beth Orton session.

Lets all wallow, then, in our guilt, this Wednesday Evening, 5th September, 10pm-Midnight (BST) on The Waiting Room, via www.errorfm.com, and enjoy these remembered gems, indie-style.


Tracks:

1. Petra Haden "Don't Stop Believin" (Journey)
2. Devendra Banhart "Don't Look Back In Anger" (Oasis)
3. Mark Mulcahy "From This Moment On" (Shania Twain)
4. Luna "Straight Up" (Paula Abdul)
5. The Concretes "Back For Good" (Take That)
6. Jim O'Rourke "Viva Forever" (Spice Girls)
7. Goat "Sugar We're Going Down" (Fall Out Boy)
8. Will Oldham "Can't Take That Away" (Mariah Carey)
9. Woody Jackson Orchestra ft Money Mark
"Love's Theme (Love Unlimited Orchestra)"
10. Porter Block "Breaking Free" (High School Musical)
11. Mooney Suzuki "Just Like Jesse James" (Cher)
12. Geoff Farina "Two Tickets To Paradise" (Eddie Money)
13. Casey Shea "Chop Suey" (System of a Down)
14. Superchunk "Say My Name" (Destiny's Child)
15. Mike Watt "Burning For You" (Blue Oyster Cult)

plus, aside from this plethora of goodness, we also get time to squeeze in some usual live, nonsensical chat & catch up, as well as un-related cover versions by 4 more wonderful tuneful types to get your ears all-a-poppin & your hearts all-a-gladdin.

Spoiled, I hear you say? You, we are confident, are only just beginning to understand the full potential of said emotion.

Come, then, drench your selves in our fancy.

x Hope Eternal & one half of Drunk Country



Keep in mind that those not on UK time will have to do some math to find out when that is for them. If that's too much work for you, and it just might be, I'm guessing the podcast will surface here after the fact. Ah, what the heck, here's a quick (not all-inclusive, but hopefully helpful nonetheless) time chart for the live broadcast for those interested:

Pacific: 2 PM, Sept. 5
Mountain: 3 PM, Sept. 5
Central: 4 PM, Sept. 5
Eastern: 5 PM, Sept. 5
AST: 6 PM, Sept. 5
GMT: 10 PM, Sept. 5
CET: 11 PM, Sept. 5
AU: 7 AM, Sept. 6

Hopefully that's accurate.

2 comments:

The Waiting Room said...

Thank you for the shout out Ms L., muchos appreciatos.

If'n you have a Hotmail/MSN messenger username, e-mail it to my usual e-ddress &, if you want the tracks from the show, or the select faves, & I'll share folder the ones you want.

Why?

Cos we love you & want to snuggle.

x DC

Francis said...

I've heard the Petra Haden and the Mike Watt tracks, which I find utterly dreamy and kind of unlistenable (in that order).